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Dewey-Humboldt Magistrate Court  
2735 S Hwy 69 – PO Box 492 

Humboldt, Arizona 86329 

Phone: 928-632-0008  Fax: 928-632-7987 

IMPORTANT –  READ FIRST 
 

The charges on your citation indicate whether they 

are civil traffic offenses or criminal traffic offenses. 

IF ANY OF THE CHARGES ARE CRIMINAL 

TRAFFIC, YOU MUST APPEAR AT THE DATE 

AND TIME LISTED AT THE BOTTOM OF YOUR 

CITATION, OR A BENCH WARRANT MAY BE 

ISSUED FOR YOUR ARREST. 
 

If the charges on your citation are all Civil Traffic, 

you have four options on how to proceed: 

1. You may admit responsibility and pay the fine at 

the court. 

2. You may admit responsibility and pay the fine by 

mail. 

3. You may deny responsibility and have the Court 

schedule a Civil Traffic Hearing. Please refer to 

the appropriate section of this insert for specific 

instructions. 

4. You may attend Defensive Driving School for 

one moving violation. 
 

The appearance date on your citation is NOT a hear-

ing date. It is the last day that you have to 

contact the court regarding your decision to 

attend defensive driving school, pay your fine, 

or contest the charges. 
 

Failure to respond to a civil traffic citation on or 

before the appearance date may result in default 

judgment being entered against you, may result 

in the Motor Vehicle Division suspending your 

driver’s license or privilege, and, if you are a 

resident of another state, could result in the 

suspension of your driver’s license in your home 

state under the Nonresident Violator Compact. 

DEFENSIVE DRIVING SCHOOL 
Violations bolded and underlined in the Fine Schedule 

are eligible for Defensive Driving School. 

 

If you choose to attend and successfully complete 

Defensive Driving School, the civil traffic moving 

violation will be dismissed, you will not have to pay a fine 

to the Court, and the Motor Vehicle Division will not 

assess any points on your driving record. 
 

If you have a Commercial Driver’s License (“CDL”), you 

are NOT eligible to attend Defensive Driving School. 

 

Out of State violators must coordinate with an Arizona 

school for attendance in home state.  Contact the Court for 

information. 

 

I avow to the Court that I have not attended defensive 

driving school within the past 1 years (citation date to 

citation date). I waive my right to a trial or hearing and 

understand that if I fail to schedule and complete 

defensive driving school within 7 days of the appearance 

date on the citation I will have to pay the normal 

fine/sanction amount plus an additional $20.00 late fee 

which is required by law.   
 

Signature  ________________________________  

Name  ___________________________________  

Address  _________________________________  

 ________________________________________  

Telephone ________________________________  
 

NOTE:     If you have been cited for violating A.R.S 

Sec. 28-645A3a (a red light violation) OR if you are 

under age 18 and have been cited for a first offense 

civil traffic moving violation, you may be eligible to 

attend Defensive Driving School and have the violation 

dismissed.  If you choose not to attend Defensive 

Driving School or are not eligible, and you are found 

responsible, you will be assigned to attend Traffic 

Survival School by the Motor Vehicle Division when 

MVD receives notice of the violation. 

For More Information: 

http://www.azdrive.com    

888-334-5565 

TO REQUEST A HEARING 
Complete the Following Instructions Only If: 

1. You are pleading not responsible, AND 

2. You wish to have a hearing date scheduled by 

the Court, AND 

3. You are giving up the option of attending a 

Defensive Driving class and having your ticket 

dismissed.  

 

1. Complete and sign the following: 

CITATION NO.: __________________________  

I request a hearing to contest the following charge(s): 

Charge A:  _______________________________  

Charge B:  _______________________________  

Charge C:  _______________________________  

Charge D:  _______________________________  

Charge E:  _______________________________  

 

Signature  _______________________________  

Name  __________________________________  

Address  _________________________________  

 ________________________________________  

Telephone _______________________________  

2. Check one box: 

I.  I WILL be represented by an attorney. 

II.  I WILL NOT be represented by an attorney. 

3. Place this insert, along with a copy of your 

citation, in the envelope provided and mail it to the 

Court.  Be sure to put correct postage on the 

envelope.  Your request for hearing must be received 

by the Court before the court date listed at the 

bottom of your citation. 

4. You will be notified by mail of your hearing date. 

You may be asked to post a bond.  

 YOU MUST APPEAR ON THE SCHEDULED DATE, 

OR A DEFAULT JUDGMENT MAY BE ENTERED 

AGAINST YOU, AND YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE 

MAY BE SUSPENDED BY THE MOTOR VEHICLE 

DIVISION.

http://www.azdrive.com/


FINE SCHEDULE 

Amounts listed below are Bond/Deposits.  If the violation code is 

not listed, you must contact the Court for further instructions.  

Violations bolded and underlined are eligible for Defensive 

Driving School.   

ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES 
Civil Traffic Offenses 

*BE SURE TO ADD $81 COURT FEE TO TOTAL FINE AMOUNT* 
28-448 ................................... $120..00 

28-644 thru 647 ....................... 180.00 

28-648 ...................................... 120.00 

28-651 ...................................... 180.00 

28-666 ...................................... 120.00 

28-701A failure to control speed to avoid 

collision ................................... 180.00 

 

28-701A, 28-702.04B, 28-701.01C without 

accident 

1-10 mph over limit .................. 130.00 

11-15 mph over limit ................ 180.00 

16-20 mph over limit ................ 280.00 

21-25 mph over limit ................ 380.00 

26+ mph over limit ................... 495.00 

 

28-701E. .................................. 120.00 

28-702.01A ................................ 62.00 

28-704A ................................... 120.00 

28-704C ................................... 180.00 

28-705 thru 28-706B ............... 120.00 

28-710A ................................... 218.00 

28-710B ................................... 318.00 

28-721 thru 775 ....................... 180.00 

28-792A ................................... 120.00 

28-792B ................................... 180.00 

28-793A or B ........................... 120.00 

28-794 ...................................... 180.00 

28-795 thru 796 ........................ 120.00 

28-797E .................................... 480.00 

28-813 or 814 .......................... 120.00 

28-815A or B .......................... 120.00 

28-815D 180.00 

28-816 or 817 120.00 

28-851 thru 856 180.00 

28-855B or C ............................ 180.00 

28-857A1 

First Offense .................... 495.00 

Second Offense (in 36 months)

 ........................................ 1,41500 

Third Offense (in 36 months)1,875.00 

 

28-858 ................................... 205.00 

28-871A thru 874C  .............. 105.00 

28-884 ................................... 127.00 

28-891 thru 895B ................. 120.00 

28-896 thru 897 .................... 180.00 

28-903 ................................... 180.00 

28-904A ................................ 120.00 

28-906 ................................... 120.00 

28-907A ................................ 127.00 

produce receipt proving purchase of child 
passenger restraint system fine 
suspended 
28-909 ..................................... 53.00 

28-921 thru 927 ..................... 105.00 

28-929 thru 947 ..................... 105.00 

28-952 thru 954 ..................... 105.00 

28-955 ................................... 219.00 

28-956 thru 957 ..................... 105.00 

28-958 ................................... 105.00 

28-959 thru 965 ..................... 105.00 

28-981 ................................... 180.00 

28-983 ................................... 180.00 

28-1091 thru 1097 ................. 180.00 

28-1098 

First Offense ..................... 495.00 

Second Offense ................. 679.00 

28-2008 ................................. 120.00 

28-2058 or 2060 .................... 120.00 

28-2153A, B, C ..................... 127.00 

with proof of proper 

registration ....................... 81.00 

28-2354 ................................. 105.00 

28-2511 or 2512 .................... 180.00 

28-2532 ................................. 585.00 

with proof of current 
registration ................... 127.00 

28-3151 ................................. 127.00 

 With proof of license ...... 81.00 

28-3154 thru 3157 ................. 127.00 

28-3169A .............................. 127.00 

28-3475 ................................. 180.00 

28-4135 ............... .see panel on right 

28-4139 ................................. 493.00 

Criminal Traffic Offenses 

28-701.02A1 

Excessive Speed in School Zone 

1-25 mph over limit ................. 380.00 

26-30 mph over limit ............... 580.00 

31+ mph over limit .................. 780.00 

28-701.02A2 

Excessive Speed in Business/Residential 

Area 

20-25 mph over limit ............... 380.00 

26-30 mph over limit ............... 580.00 

31+ mph over limit .................. 780.00 

 

28-701.02A3 

Excessive Speed in 55 MPH Zone 

86-90 MPH ............................. 495.00 

91+ MPH ................................ 685.00 

Excessive Speed in 65 MPH Zone 

86-90 MPH ............................. 380.00 

91+ MPH ................................ 580.00 

Excessive Speed in 75 MPH Zone 

86-90 MPH ............................. 180.00 

91-95 MPH ............................. 280.00 

96-100 MPH............................ 380.00 

101+ MPH............................... 580.00 

PAY FINE BY CREDIT CARD 
WWW.DHAZ.GOV 

 

PAY YOUR FINE BY MAIL 
 

1. READ AND SIGN THE FOLLOWING 

STATEMENT: 
I hereby waive my right to a hearing and enter a plea 

of responsible for the following charges listed on the 

citation (refer to the FINE SCHEDULE for the fine 

amount(s)): 

Signature __________________________________  

Name _____________________________________  

Address ____________________________________  

 __________________________________________  

Telephone  _________________________________  

2. List each violation from your citation to 

which you are admitting responsibility. You 

may pay your fine by personal check, 

cashier’s check or money order, payable to 

Dewey-Humboldt Magistrate Court. 
DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL. 

3. Place this insert, along with your payment 

and a copy of your citation in an envelope 

and mail it to Dewey-Humboldt Magistrate 

Court, PO Box 492, Humboldt, AZ 86329.   

PAY FINE AT THE COURT 
If you choose to admit responsibility for the charge(s) 

against you, you may come to the Dewey-Humboldt 

Magistrate Court in person. The Court is located at 2735 

South Highway 69, Humboldt, AZ. COURT HOURS 

ARE TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY, THURSDAY, 8:00-

12:00 AND 1:00-5:00, EXCEPT HOLIDAYS. 
Payments are accepted by cash, check, money order, or 

credit card. NOTE: The appearance date on your 

citation is the last day that you can appear to pay your 

citation without having to pay a late fee of $20.00. You 

may appear before that date. 
 

Warnings 

If you plead to or are found responsible for violating 

ARS 28-645A3A or 28-647.1, state law requires 

completion of Traffic Survival School. This is different 

from Defensive Driving School. MVD administers the 

program and will provide notification to you regarding 

your required attendance. 

 

Effective 08/25/04, holders of CDL licenses are no 

longer eligible for Defensive Driving School. Please note 

that this law applies to all CDL license holders, regardless 

of whether they are driving commercially when they 

receive their citation. 

 

Citation No. 

Charge Fine 
 $  

 $ 

 $ 

 $ 

Court Fee – Assessed to each Citation $ 81.00 

A $20 late payment fee must be 
included if your payment is not 
received by the court on or before the 
appearance date listed on the bottom 
of your citation. 

 

Total Amount Enclosed $ 

NO INSURANCE CITATIONS 

ARS Sec. 28-4135 (a), (b) or (c) Effective 09-30-09 

1st Conviction - $950.00 fine, and 3 month suspension 

of driver’s privilege, vehicle registration and plates 

2nd Conviction - $1,407.00 fine, and 6 month suspension 

of driver’s privilege, vehicle registration and plates 

3rd Conviction - $1,865.00 fine, and 1 year suspension of 

driver’s privilege, vehicle registration and plates 

*If you provide proof to the court that you had valid 

insurance in force on the date of violation, the court 

will dismiss the charge. 

*If you did not have insurance on the date of violation, 

but purchase a minimum of six months of insurance, 

you must provide to the court a copy of your MVD 

Driving Record (3 years) and the proof of insurance. 

With proper documentation your fine may be reduced. 

http://www.dhaz.gov/

